Bob's Blog

This is my blog about life, art, literature and whatever else I may want to talk about.

Hunky Firefighter Calender Survives House Fire

Today is the 22nd Anniversary of my house burning down. It happened on 8/8/88. So, not unlike Nova Lee (portrayed by Natalie Portman) in the movie Where the Heart is, who dreaded the number 5, I don’t like the number 8.

After it happened, and I was sifting through the ashes seeing if anything was salvagable, I came across a Fireman’s calender that I had purchased at the beginning of the year. It was singed a bit around the edges, but that was it. Everything in the bedroom, except the calender, was burnt to a crisp. I remember thinking, “How is that possible?” It reminded me of that tornado that completely destroyed a restaurant, but left one of the tables with an upright ketchup bottle on it untouched.

So, every August 8th I think about the day that I came home and my house was destroyed by fire. I also think about Beatrice, the daughter of Sarah Ferguson, who was born on that day. And, I think about that firefighter calender that survived, and how eerily strange and ironic that is.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2010 by in Bizarre, Memories and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

A Dream Within A Dream

Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow-
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand-
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep- while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

Edgar Allan Poe
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.